Blooming Romance Chapter 28

VIP chapters start here! Do support the author if you like the story ~\(≧▽≦)/~ (Will try to do a double updates if possible next week!)

t/n (hover over the number to read the note without affecting your reading/clicking will bring you back here):
1. You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink (强扭的瓜不甜) – You can give someone an advantage or provide them with an opportunity, but you can’t force them to do something if they don’t want to. The phrase in chinese is literally translated as ‘melon forcibly plucked out isn’t sweet‘ which means forcing things does not give good outcomes.


Lin Yanchen felt something stuck in his left chest, so blocked that it hurt and made him unsure of what to do for a moment.

Chu Xun was still smiling, but Lin Yanchen couldn’t smile at all.

The atmosphere was sad and awkward. Even Chu Xun found himself amazing for still having the mood to joke. “You said you wouldn’t be able to fall asleep. Now that I’ve said it, can you fall asleep?”

Lin Yanchen grabbed hold of Chu Xun’s hand this time around and muttered, “I can’t.”

Before death, farewells in life are nothing. Chu Xun is most grateful for the fact that Xiao Lin allowed him to complete many of his wishes in the final part of his life. Even though he still wants to see more of this world, he’s already satisfied with what he has gotten now.

He’s no longer feeling irritated or disheartened, and can finally accept the fact that he’s dying.

“Xiao Lin, thank you so much. I’m very glad to be able to meet you.”

Lin Yanchen vaguely remembered that feeling he had when he met Chu Xun that day after getting drunk. Wanting to be rebellious, he originally intended to just go wild and enjoy the moment, and thought they would break up peacefully after a month… He didn’t know when he started being serious in this relationship, unknowingly forgetting the one month agreement. He didn’t expect time to pass so quickly. It felt as though he just met Chu Xun yesterday.

Lin Yanchen felt the burn in his eyes and he heard his choked voice sounding so weak that it wasn’t like him. “Ah Xun, can you not leave?”

“Xiao Lin, don’t be like this. Life is a journey full of nonstop meetings and farewells. At least we were happy when we were together. Isn’t that enough?” Chu Xun said softly.

At this moment, Lin Yanchen could no longer hold himself back and keep the feelings he had for so long in. He said in one go like an explosion, “Ah Xun, stay with me. I don’t want your money. Don’t leave.”

Even though Chu Xun was very upset, he still insisted, “No, we had an agreement.”

“Then I’ll give you 300 thousand dollars. Stay to accompany me.” Lin Yanchen said hurriedly.

Chu Xun was stunned for a moment before he laughed out of amusement. “Don’t say such things, Xiao Lin. I’m not interested in letting you be my boss.”

Seeing Chu Xun still laughing as though what he said was nothing, Lin Yanchen was truly feeling frustrated and going to lose it. “How can you be like this? How can you be so cold-hearted?”

“How am I cold-hearted? Don’t malign me. I’m just keeping my words.”

Lin Yanchen wasn’t able to vent his frustration and ended up bursting out, “What do you want me to do in order for you to stay? Ah Xun, I like you. I really like you. Do you not like me even in the slightest bit? I told you I like you so many times, but you never said that to me even once. What am I not doing good enough? Don’t you like me?”

Chu Xun looked away as he started feeling the sting in his eyes when Lin Yanchen stared at him with those eyes that were full of intense love.

Lin Yanchen put on a straight face and walked in the direction Chu Xun looked away until he was in the older’s line of sight. He continued changing his positions when the older looked away again.

Left with no choice, Chu Xun looked up at Lin Yanchen, took a deep breath and said, “We’re so happy together, so do you have to put us in such a situation? The reason I called for you back then was just to become happier. What’s the point of doing this now? Can’t we just part on good terms? We started all this smiling, so let’s end this with a smile too, alright? It’s for your, and my good.”

The Lin Yanchen who had always been going along with Chu Xun suddenly refused to listen to the older’s words. “I don’t want to do that. Actually, I’m not…”

Chu Xun knew that Lin Yanchen might be intending to confess about his identity, but he didn’t want to listen to that. He injected with a cold voice, “I heard you telling the girl ‘don’t tell anyone’.” He had wanted to mention this all along.

Lin Yanchen was taken aback and started panicking before Chu Xun said anything else.

Chu Xun went on to clarify that he wasn’t affected by that. He knows that he’s very silly in the area of love. If he isn’t, he wouldn’t have been fooled by Ji Tianze for ten over years, willingly doing everything Ji Tianze asked. He doesn’t dare to find out whether Lin Yanchen means it or not, but whenever he recalls what Lin Yanchen said, he will feel irritated. He didn’t even realise how bitter he sounded. “I understood what you said to that girl. It’s true that our relationship can’t be revealed to others… Right from the start, we already made the agreement to just have fun. But since you’re not willing to let others know about our relationship, it shows that you’re not that serious about it too. Since that’s the way it is, why do you bother asking me to stay? You even wanted to hide that from me and deliberately spoke in French.”

“You also said…” Chu Xun took in a deep breath before continuing. “You also said to her that I’m not your boyfriend. I understood what you said.”

“No, that’s not what I meant when I said that then. I—I was just afraid that you’d be unhappy, so I spoke in French. The reason I told her not— not to tell others and that you’re not my boyfriend isn’t because I don’t want others to know…” Lin Yanchen was so anxious and exasperated that he stumbled as he spoke.

He still wants to lie? “Then what was that for?” Chu Xun asked coldly.

Lin Yanchen raised his voice out of anxiousness. “Isn’t that because you’ve never said that you like me before? I… I haven’t asked you whether you want to officially be my boyfriend. If you’re willing, let alone telling my friends that you’re my lover, I can buy a spot in the newspaper to announce it to the whole world! I… didn’t dare to ask because I don’t think you like me that much.”

Chu Xun was taken aback by Lin Yanchen’s loud and firm voice, only reacting after a while. “Why do you have to shout? Do you want to quarrel with me?”

Being asked that by Chu Xun, Lin Yanchen finally calmed down and softened his tone, dejectedly saying, “It’s okay even though you don’t like me as much as I like you, but you can’t accuse me of not liking you.”

Chu Xun’s heart ached. Whether Lin Yanchen really likes him or not, he feels terrible. If Xiao Lin really likes him, then all the more he can’t get Xiao Lin involved. Good thing that they have not officially started dating and have yet to fall too deep. It’s still not too late to get out of this relationship.

Lin Yanchen opened his arms and brought Chu Xun into his arms, giving the older a tight hug. They could feel each other’s burning, fast and erratic heartbeats. Chu Xun clenched his fists as he held back the urge to hug Xiao Lin too.

Chu Xun closed his eyes, took a deep breath to adjust his emotions and repeated the process several times before he finally summoned up the courage to push Lin Yanchen away.

At that moment, he felt a drop of warm water on his neck.

That was a drop of tear.

His body stiffened immediately.

He felt as though the spot the tear fell on was burning, the heat spreading to the bottom of his heart.

Aish, this brat is always so unreasonable, making it hard for him to be a cruel.

Lin Yanchen sobbed, “Your heart is beating so quickly. You clearly like me too, but you just won’t admit. Can we date properly?”

“That’s only because I did many things that would make my heart beat faster with you, so when I see you, my heart unconsciously beats faster too.” Chu Xun came up with a nonsensical explanation.

Lin Yanchen released Chu Xun from his hold and grabbed the older’s shoulders. Looking at the older with a pair of watery eyes, he pointed out in a weak yet angry tone, “You’re lying.”

Chu Xun gritted his teeth and wanted to say more cruel words to resolve this situation instantly. “I…”

Before he finished his word, Lin Yanchen suddenly bent down to kiss him.

It was the first time Lin Yanchen gave Chu Xun such a rough, urgent and frustrated kiss. The younger’s lips were trembling, full of aggressiveness and also extremely fragile.

It was also the first time Chu Xun didn’t let Lin Yanchen in, keep his lips, as well as his heart, shut.

Lin Yanchen slowly lost hope.

Chu Xun made up his mind and pushed Lin Yanchen away forcefully. “Don’t be like this, Lin Yanchen. You’re not such a forceful person in my impression. You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink1. “

“Ah Xun, do you really not like me? Not at all?” Lin Yanchen asked in an almost begging tone, looking worn out.

Chu Xun curled his trembling fingers, clenched them into a fist tightly. Looking at Lin Yanchen, he answered the younger as every word he said seemed to be stabbing his own heart, “Xiao Lin, stop being a persistent, please? I’ve always thought of you as a polite gentleman and I don’t want to ruin that image of you in my heart. Let my memories of you be pleasant ones in the future, please? …I’ve already gotten the air ticket for tomorrow. “

Lin Yanchen felt as though his heart was submerged in cold mire, sinking downwards gradually. That anxious and yet, helpless. Even back when the first company he started was acquired, he didn’t feel so weak. He was even holding in his anger and waiting for the right moment to get back at his dad and prove the older wrong. But it’s different this time. He has completely no idea how he can make Chu Xun stay. Yes, he’s wealthy, but he definitely doesn’t believe that his identity will make Chu Xun change his mind

Chu Xun is a difficult question he has no idea how to solve. He has failed completely.

The room was terrifyingly quiet. It wasn’t until who knew how long that Lin Yanchen took several deep breaths, slowly held back his tears and adjusted his mood. At the very least, he tried to display his mannerism and said, “Alright, I understood… At least let me send you off, please?”

Chu Xun hesitated for a moment and wanted to refuse. “Xiao Lin, I think…”

Seeing Chu Xun’s hesitation, Lin Yanchen couldn’t bear it anymore. The calmness he struggled to build up earlier collapsed in an instant as his tears fell when he blinked. “Chu Xun, you can’t be so heartless.”

Chu Xun’s heart seemed to be stabbed by a knife when he saw the way Lin Yanchen looked at him. As though he had used up his strength, his hands and legs were cold. He lowered his head, not daring to look at the younger’s expression. “Alright then… Send me to the airport tomorrow. Thanks, Xiao Lin.” He gave a weak and small nod.


The author has something to say:

Thank you for subscribing

previous / content page / next
support the author directly if you can~ (๑•ᴗ•๑)♡ (‘how to use jjwxc’ tab on top)

37 thoughts on “Blooming Romance Chapter 28

  1. chu xun is really… he always creates walls and reminds lin yanchen that he is only a fake bf ofc lyc would think the bf thing was only between them, why would he go around telling others he is his bf. don’t use that as a proof that lyc doesn’t like you. ah headache 💆‍♂️

    Like

    1. well, Chu Xun is doing it for LYC not for himself. He thought he’s gonna die, so he doesn’t want LYC to fall in love with him and end up alone miserable when he died.

      Like

  2. I felt tears brimming in my eyes… I hate this scene bc it makes me cry and I hate crying… everything hurts and Chu Xun is NOT okayyyyyy

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Thank you so much for this chapter!
    How would the gong find out about his situation? Would he still be persistent about it and follow him back to China to join him at the check up?
    It’s almost time for the correct diagnosis…. Stay strong my heart 😢, fluff will be back in a few chapters (hopefully only 2-3 chaps away)

    Liked by 3 people

    1. /chokes on nothing/ there seems to be a sudden shift in mood from the first line to the second line hahaha though he probably won’t bear to the next second (///▽///)

      Liked by 2 people

  4. T_T, see he’s considerate so it makes it all the more painful because MC doesn’t want to hurt him even more with his death, which is not true but he doesn’t know that…

    Liked by 4 people

      1. I love leaving comments on novels I like because I know the translator/authors like it too, well at least to know that people are definitely reading. Well, then again there are some sites i’m too lazy to register for so I end up not commenting…

        Liked by 3 people

      2. ayee samee haha. authors really appreciate comments!! and getting to interact with an author (if they have the time to reply) is a happy thing to look forward to for me hehe. personally as a translator, i do like comments bc nice seeing more people enjoy a story i enjoyed too~ though it’s also understandable that some chapters might not cause much reactions sometimes ε=ε=ε=(~ ̄▽ ̄)~ appreciate your effort keke. and well there is that inevitable laziness at times 😂

        Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment