the guide and unimportant things

[5/2/2020] UPDATED JJWXC GUIDE:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lNXe9a7D8GKPPJVVALmITaRUPC5PPGlh/view?usp=sharing


(don’t view this post in reader mode as the form won’t show up QAQ)

1. PROJECT: Won’t be returning to translate any time soon but if I, 古董下山 should be what I’m translating (if no one started). Will ensure that I can keep updates steady before I start.

As for now, feel free to unfollow bc any updates from this blog in near future will purely be on the guide and things like that. Maybe see you back here in the future (≧∀≦)ゞ

2. JJWXC GUIDE: Will find time to update the guide properly and when updated, will inform with a blog post! In the meantime, comment your problems if any~

A few questions (will be great to get some responses):

① Any particular jjwxc feature you (urgently) hope to see in the guide? / Changes to be made to the guide?
② Are you guys able to make purchases on Taobao? Another top up payment method for jjwxc is through Taobao (jjwxc’s official store), so if you guys can use Taobao, I will introduce that method in the guide too.
③ Do you think I should move the guide to a blog specially for jjwxc?
④ Anyone needs a guide on 长佩文学?(changpei) There is no overseas payment method for changpei though I do see stores on Taobao (not by changpei).
⑤ Any other chinese stuff you might need some help with?

Regarding help with top up: I can help with top up but only in fix amounts in exchange for vialactea’s gift card (i.e.10CAD for 50YUAN top up)
Note that if you require my help, you need to be comfortable with passing me your account for access (you can change your pw afterwards and you can rest assure that i won’t do anything with your account other than topping up). I use wechat for payment btw.
This is the only way I can help given that you really have no other options bc I don’t use paypal so I can’t accept paypal transfers anyway.
↑opening this up for any chinese site that accepts wechat as a payment method and that I know how to navigate on
Haven’t tried this before but if you do need this help, leave a comment anywhere in this blog first for me to contact you with clearer details/find me on discord at shoko#8641 (don’t really use it but will see your message earlier)

below if you have time to read, had #3 written quite some time back but will leave it as it is

3. This is a rant about donations (very long, probably offending)
(tldr – if you intend to donate to any translators (be it for advance chapters or as an appreciation), it may be good to try to find out if the translator is supporting the authors themselves to know if your money is going into proper use if you really like that particular novel. What’s best is if you can directly head to jj/the website the novel is on to support that novel.)

I understand and I’m not against translators seeking donations from readers. HOWEVER, this is only given that the translators themselves are supporting the authors.

I went around NU to see what have been translated so far, was actually intending to do up my rec list and got quite happy to see quite a lot familiar ones I have read. But it was honestly upsetting when I spotted one translator, who was clearly not supporting the author, opening up links for donations.

① You shouldn’t be making money off someone else’s hard work completely without even giving back a single cent to the author. This is called a fan translation for a reason. If you view translating as solely a money making tool, (can I curse??) wtf. It probably only takes at most, not at least, 4 readers to treat you to read one official version of the novel if each of them only donates a dollar. I don’t understand why in the first place you thought it was alright to ask for donations when you didn’t fork out a single cent to read the vip novel.

② Should you encounter any problem using the original site, take initiative to seek help if you really care about supporting (if you don’t, you obviously won’t). As long as you are not block off from the website, there should be no excuses for you to not be able to use the site. I’m pretty sure there are people around who are willing to help if you bothered to ask.

This applies for everyone actually. If you encounter issues signing up or something, you can always ask me. I really don’t mind helping with setting up your account then passing it back to you and stuff like that.

BUT if in the first place you (the translator) are unable to support the author despite being financially capable of doing so, what made you think you canand should shamelessly get money from readers anyway? 这种行为很low,你的良心不痛吗?

③ Being able to afford + intending to get the hardcopy of the novel ≠ there is no need for you to make up for the money you have eaten from reading a stolen vip novel. If you can afford the hardcopy which is usually more than 10 times the price of the original novel, I don’t see why you can’t first make up for that bit of money and why you asked others for money in the first place.

I have my own principles and views. If they clash with yours badly, either fight me or do us both a favour and block me or hit the cross/back arrow on whatever device you are using.

4. Other stuff that happened(?)

📖 If you remember the publisher for Blooming Romance, note that novels under jjwxc can no longer be bought using an address out of North America. So if you ever intend to purchase from that publisher, do use an address in North America (if you need to find a proxy, etc)~

🎵 This song got pretty viral even outside the chinese bl circle this year so will share it for fun~ It’s a fanmade song for a novel series called 188男团 (188 Boy Group?). The series can be considered quite a classic but I haven’t read and probably never will. Heard that the stories are full of angst and despite the HEs, BEs are probably more fitting ,,ԾㅂԾ,,

🐾 A cold fact on why shoko is called shoko: If you ever noticed the title of the blog 書庫, it’s actually a kanji that means archive and is pronounced as shoko. the chinese meaning is actually similar too so that’s why (*^▽^*)

That’s about it from me! Happy New Year in advance! Hope 2019 was good for you and even if it isn’t, may 2020 be a better year for all~ (I wouldn’t say it was a great year for the chinese bl circle, especially with all the major bl novel sites doing shit acts this year but may next year be better~) It was great meeting you all o(* ̄︶ ̄*)o

to contact, always feel free to leave a comment anywhere on this blog/contact me on discord at shoko#8641

2 thoughts on “the guide and unimportant things

  1. No matter what you do, I’ll be here waiting.
    Patiently.
    I’ll be watching.

    Hahaha..
    Just kidding.
    Just take your time and consider everything that happens in your life.
    Because whatever happens affects you, not us.
    On the other hand, I do agree with everything you said in this post.
    I also want to support the author because now I have PayPal.
    I just need to understand more about the payments and such.
    Also how much money will it takes according to my country’s exchange rate.
    I’m trying my best to get the bigger picture.
    Again, I am deeply grateful for everything all the post regarding supporting the author.
    If it’s not for you, I wouldn’t have known that we can do that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment